Shire of Kondinin


Located in the Wheatbelt, 273kms east of Perth on the Brookton Hwy. The Shire of Kondinin is bursting with unique experiences, vibrant history and an authentic Aussie atmosphere.

The Shire of Kondinin consists of three townsites – Kondinin, Karlgarin and Hyden.

The Kondinin Shire Council comprises of 7,340km2located in the Central Eastern Wheatbelt.

The three towns promote a theme representing their area.  Kondinin promotes “Heritage of Red Soil Riches”, Karlgarin promotes “Small and Proud” and Hyden promotes “Bush Living at its Best”

The Kondinin Road Board was formed from the portions of the Roe Road Board, Corrigin Road Board and Narembeen Road Board on 19th June 1925.  The first election was held on 5th September 1925, with the first meeting taking place in the Kondinin Hall on the 12th September 1925.  It became a Shire Council in 1961.

Some of the best posts featuring the Shire of Kondinin:

Wheatbelt Roadtrip #1: Southern Wheatbelt

A day in the life of Sacha (Kondinin)

View all posts featuring the Shire of Kondinin here.

Visit the Shire of Kondinin website here:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *